Blog Comments

Comment #20: I LOVE this post! I am very into music as well, and although I do not consider myself a musician, I appreciate those who are involved in it. It is true– without music the world is silent. Try going without music for an entire week. It is extremely difficult. In controlled settings it is easy to monitor your listening, but once you step out, there is music everywhere. Great post! *Posted to user katycarpinello

Comment #19: I like the screenshot you provided. I currently am procrastinating, but I cannot say I am suffering from writer’s block. Although, I clicked on the link you provided–quite informative! I appreciate articles like this because my writing skills need help. Although the tweet’s punctuation is a bit dramatic, I have to say, it definitely caught my attention! Great post! *Posted to user jordanstaggs

Comment #18: I agree with you – I use that phrase all the time without paying any mind to the wordiness it may add. I recently read an article about the term “that”. It suggested to the reader “that” it should be avoided in sentence use. But how do you avoid using that? I think I use it at least four to five times in my paragraphs. I suppose eventually, if I care to do so, I will take the time to really look at my writing and eliminate words deemed unnecessary. Great post! *Posted to user blherrman

Comment #17: By far, this is the most interesting PR Connection I have come across. These types of businesses make me wonder if I’d be successful in setting up my own shop. In my opinion, if breast milk ice cream can be sold, Donald Trump’s presidential campaign can be sold. Seriously, this is awesome. But, I don’t think the lawsuit is necessary (in regards to the baby gaga name). *Posted to user ericaearljournalism

Comment #16: Great post! I agree– businesses must act quickly. Strong ideas can be developed, but without the proper action and execution, the idea will be neglected or stolen (for lack of a better word). And yes, creativity is key. Without it, marketing/PR would not be in existence. I am an advocator of creativity in the work force, but I do believe it should be meshed with practicality. *Posted to user jlardrey

Comment #15: This is beyond cute! I agree with you, the internet, especially services such as youtube and twitter, can cause news/videos/gossip to spread like wildfire. In some situations, this can be a great springboard to launch cute videos, such as the one you provided, or promote the struggling adolescent boy band’s demo cd. But, it can pose serious problems, especially if someone is personally being attacked by a release of a video or a statement. *Posted to user Public Relations Apps

Comment #14: I just want to compliment you on your beautiful blog! I’m suppose to be leaving notes on PR blogs but I couldn’t brush over your page– quite a presence. My cooking/baking skills, or lack thereof, have helped me forge ahead through the perils of the average college student diet. I live in a dorm– my appliances are limited to the illegal hot plate. I made fudge once, but I burned the batch. But yes, I just wanted to say you inspire me. Hope you are successful in all your future cooking endeavors! *baking in boots

Comment #13: Great video! As a student and a young person, hearing professionals, such as Mr. Ghannam, speak on the various aspects of the communications’ industry truly encourages and equips me. His advice, in regards to networking, reminds me to stay grounded in the literal world, connecting with people via face to face interaction. I appreciate his insight! *Posted to user prconversations

Comment #12: I laughed at the the job description. I’m sure people are flocking to this “employer’s” doorstep. But really, what kind of experience do you need to be a beach tester? And one man’s trash is another man’s treasure, making this job a little too subjective. How can one be sure the beach tester’s opinion will coincide with the general public (well at least Sweden’s general public)? I guess this just adds an element of fun to the magazine! Very interesting post! *Posted to user let me speak.

Comment #11: Glad to see someone addressing the issue of Facebook in the workforce. Because we are in an age of such technology, it’s inevitable that a future employer will stumble along our personal pages. Especially in younger employees and students, the idea of having several personas doesn’t seem much of a social stigma. Unfortunately, the latter can truly jeopardize future opportunities and cause unwanted reputation “fender-benders.” Great write-up! *Posted to user laurenkgray

Comment #10: Really enjoyed reading your post. I love music and hope to one day spend some time in the field. Public Relations, well I still give it a rating of a shoulder shrug. Not because I don’t like the particular sector of work, I just don’t know enough about it yet. It’s interesting to see how much social media provides a “promotional” outlet for these infant bands/musicians. Personally, I like the musicians who are hiding out in the crowds. The ones who don’t even know they have talent (and aren’t facebook junkies). Social media tools are definitely great to use for publicity, but too much publicity solicits unattainable expectations and faulty assumptions. *Posted to user prrocks

Comment #9: Facebook is a wonderful tool to utilize when connecting with family members and friends located in far off places. Unfortunately, it has become a tool to check on the person sitting directly in front of you. We have replaced handshakes with pokes and realities with assumptions. How people make their inferences out of a three-word status escapes me. But who am I to judge! I love technology! *Posted to user arianacostadini

Comment #8: February 28, 2011: I love Starbuck’s and I will continue to love Starbuck’s regardless of the logo change. I am sure there will be people (who are concerned with aesthetics) lashing out about the new logo. It would be interesting to see the sales’ numbers change as a result. Maybe they will, maybe they won’t. Change is good every now and then, let’s hope it is in favor of the business! Thanks for the update! *My last post had a spelling error! *Posted to user blorezca

Comment #7: February 28, 2011: I am a student and my knowledge on the Public Relations’ world is very limited. I agree with you‒the R can be interchangeably replaced with reputation. In regards to the latter, I find myself thinking sometimes whether or not being a PR professional would really benefit my character. I guess I have attached a stigma to the profession. But as I learn more, my eyes have been opened to the many ways PR professionals can smooth issues out while maintaining their integrity. I suppose essentially these people are peacemakers. Enjoyed reading your post! *Posted to user catchdrivermarketing

Comment #6: February 28, 2011: I am still a student debating whether or not Public Relations is a field that produces good crop. With these online internships, students get the chance to dip their feet into a particular profession without any hand-holding. As you mentioned, the responsibility of completing a task rests solely on the intern. This can be appealing to those who like to figure everything out on their own. I would consider doing a virtual internship to explore the PR field further and to save time, but it wouldn’t be my first choice. It cuts off an important part of interning: the interaction with others. Very educational post! *Posted to user A Jim Ernst Project

Comment #5: February 19, 2011: I agree- students should be weighing their options. Choosing between a firm and a corporation involves some research (which you have provided). Personally speaking, I would want to get connected with a firm. This allows for an introduction into the PR field and the development of a networking base. As you stated, firms usually have a wide-range of experience in the problem-solving arena. This proves the existence of a support system. Without the aid of other PR practitioners, a PR professional must fend for himself (usually the case if working for a corporation). As a student with no experience, I would side with a firm. *Posted to user sandratheoret

Comment #4: February 15, 2011: The marketing tactic mentioned definitely gives the consumer more of an incentive to make a Canon purchase. I currently have a Nikon D5000, and it cost me all my grain and oats. My father recently purchased a Canon Rebel. In comparing the two, each camera has varying features, but generally, DSLRs all function the same. This also goes for the pricing– regardless of the brand you side with, you will find yourself shoveling out about the same amount as you would for the neighboring competitor. *Posted to user Viper42391

Comment #3:February 12, 2011: I agree with you– Poynter helps (the latter may be an understatement). I have learned more through the online courses provided than I have in the classroom. Not to discredit the professors, but self-instruction proves to be the best tool for solid reinforcement. I recently went through a NewsU grammar session and it rocked my very small “grammar world”. *Posted to user KelseyMLeu

Comment #2: February 3, 2011: I have to say I agree with your post. I don’t understand the intent of misusing particular words. Perhaps Wet Seal is trying to target a particular group of buyers (the ones who promote individuality through spelling errors). Or maybe the company doesn’t have the funds to add the extra apostrophe and e. Whatever the reasoning, I suppose the sun still rises. Great tips by the way! I laughed out loud at the tattoo photo. *Posted to user emilybos

Comment #1: February 3, 2011: Great read my friend! Although I don’t consider myself an introvert, I do have my moments. I really enjoyed reading the tips mentioned. The application of these principles can essentially benefit both the introvert and the extrovert. I found the fifth point most interesting. I have never considered body language an important aspect in carrying oneself. But I realize I may have to tune down my slouching! *Posted to user ericaearljournalism

Leave a Reply

